Here are your 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winners

2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

Inductees Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee of Rush perform on stage at the 28th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Nokia Theatre L.A. Live on April 18, 2013 in Los Angeles, California.

Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Monday afternoon eight seminal albums in Canadian music history were awarded the 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize have been announced.

Each album is distinctly Canadian, demonstrating the best that this country has to offer musically.

Here’s how the winners were chosen:

  • Four Short Lists were established.
  • Each represented a different musical era.
  • They were then curated by juries of music historians and music media.
  • There was a public vote and one by the juries.


The winners of the 2016 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize are:


  • Public: Neil Young – After The Gold Rush
  • Jury: Leonard Cohen – Songs Of Leonard Cohen

1976 – 1985

  • Public: Rush – Moving Pictures
  • Jury: Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Kate & Anna McGarrigle


  • Public: Blue Rodeo – Five Days In July
  • Jury: Mary Margaret O’Hara – Miss America


  • Public: Arcade Fire – Funeral
  • Jury: Lhasa – La Llorona
Don't miss a minute with SiriusXM Streaming, available online and via the SiriusXM App. You can also try it free for 14 days.