VIDEO: Metallica’s Kirk Hammett is Hardwired…to rock

Kirk Hammett

Metallica are back and they are loud.

The first song/single from the band’s latest album, Hardwired…to Self-Destruct is a 3 minute thrash song called “Hardwired.”

I have to admit, when I heard that first song I was thinking, if the album was full of similar songs, what would the diehard Metallica fan say? Turns out I didn’t need to go down that road, as the remainder of the album full of songs in the usual 6 minute length and awesome.

Metallica, as many bands do, did a limited run of last minute club shows, including New York City and Toronto. Luckily, I managed to be in the house for the T.O. gig at the Opera House, a venue with capacity for 900 metal fueled souls. Tickets went on sale for fan club members for $100, in support of the local food bank.

With a catalogue as deep as theirs, I thought Metallica’s set could have some big songs played but that the band would likely stick to the new album.


They only played 3 songs from the new release; the remainder of the time with the band played crushing hit after hit, including my favorite, “Sad But True.”

The next day, I had the chance to chat one on one with Metallica’s lead guitarist, Kirk Hammett, We talked about the new album, prepping for the upcoming tour, and more.

Get the album if you are a fan of loud, or metal, or music, and try to get a physical copy as the packaging is pretty cool.



Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Dream No More
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. ManUNkind
  3. Here Comes Revenge
  4. Am I Savage?
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out the Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition Only)

  1. Lords of Summer
  2. Ronnie Rising Medley
  3. When a Blind Man Cries
  4. Remember Tomorrow
  5. Helpless (Live at Rasputin Music)
  6. Hit the Lights (Live at Rasputin Music)
  7. The Four Horsemen (Live at Rasputin Music)
  8. Ride the Lightning (Live at Rasputin Music)
  9. Fade to Black (Live at Rasputin Music)
  10. Jump in the Fire (Live at Rasputin Music)
  11. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live at Rasputin Music)
  12. Creeping Death (Live at Rasputin Music)
  13. Metal Militia (Live at Rasputin Music)
  14. Hardwired (Live in Minneapolis)


Don't miss a minute with SiriusXM Streaming, available online and via the SiriusXM App. You can also try it free for 14 days.