The Playoff Races are heating up in the CFL

CFL

TORONTO, ON - AUGUST 19: Ricky Ray of the Toronto Argonauts during the first half of CFL action as the Toronto Argonauts host the Montreal Alouettes at BMO field. Ricky Ray is now the franchise leader in passing touchdowns. (Carlos Osorio/Toronto Star via Getty Images)

Where did the time go? Only three weeks to go in the CFL regular season and as is the case every season, scoreboard watching and standings starting becomes a prominent habit for fans, player and management alike

There are four exciting match-ups on SiriusXM Canada Talks Ch. 17 this weekend and it kicks off with a Friday Night Foobtall CFL Doubleheader!!

Hamilton Tiger-Cats (8-7) @ Ottawa Redblacks (8-7)
Friday: 7:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Pacific

The two playoff bound teams in the East Divison, the Hamilton Tiger-Cats and Ottawa Redblacks start a home-and-home series in the nation’s capital. Both squads have identical records and have clinched playoff spots. But we all know both teams want that first-round bye

If either team sweeps the home-and-home they lock up the East Division, so expect a hot start to this game right from the opening kickoff.

Edmonton Eskimos (8-8) @ BC Lions (8-7)
Friday: 10:00pm Eastern / 7:00pm Pacific

Plenty of pre-game storylines in this one. The Lions are coming off a huge road win against the Calgary Stampeders. Wally Buono’s squad could greatly enhance their playoff chances with a win against the Eskimos.

While in Edmonton, Mike Reilly has put in another outstanding season but his team sits at .500. With Edmonton hosting the Grey Cup this season anything less than an appearance in the big dance will be considered a failure.

Montreal Alouettes (3-12) @ Toronto Argonauts (3-12)
Saturday: 4:00pm Eastern / 1:00pm Pacific

Don’t overlook this match-up even though it’s the CFL’s battle of the basement. Plenty of jobs are up for grabs while the first overall pick in next year’s draft looms in the balance. Montreal QB Johnny Manziel also makes his debut and might make a return to his favourite Toronto restaurant

Saskatchewan Roughriders (10-6) @ Calgary Stampeders (12-3)
7:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Pacific

Some say to leave the best for last and the CFL schedule makers did just that. These two teams have already clinched playoff spots in the West Division however many questions need answering before these squads play post-season football

The Calgary Stampeders have been decimated by injuries especially at the Receiver position while the Roughriders three-game win streak was snapped in a big way last week by getting shutout 31-0 against Winnipeg. Players are playing for playoff positions so expect the teams to empty the tank.

Don't miss a minute with SiriusXM Streaming, available online and via the SiriusXM App. You can also try it free for 14 days.