Jessica Mitchell To Co-Host Sunday Service on North Americana

Jessica Mitchell

Sarah Burke here from SiriusXM Canada.

I’m your host for Sunday Service.   We gather every Sunday in the name of Americana Music, old and new, familiar and unknown.  I’ll catch you up on new Americana releases from the founders of folk, introduce you to emerging roots artists, and feature exclusive studio interviews & performances. This Sunday, we’re celebrating this week’s International Women’s Day festivities with a full hour of females artists we love.

Sunday March 10th, 2019:

    1. Jessica Mitchell – Bulletproof
    2. k.d. Lang – Hallelujah
    3. I’m With Her – Call My Name
    4. Melissa Etheridge – Faded By Design
    5. Madison Violet – All Over Again
    6. Alison Krauss and Union Station – The Captain’s Daughter
    7. Amanda Palmer – Drowning In the Sound
    8. Charlotte Cornfield – Storm Clouds
    9. Kathleen Edwards – Chameleon / Comedian
    10. Brandi Carlile – The Joke
    11. Jade Bird – I Get No Joy
    12. Jessica Mitchell – Rain for the River

Jessica Mitchell To Co-Host & Talk Female Empowerment

The brave, the beautiful, and the brilliant Jessica Mitchell will co-host this weekend’s Sunday Service. She popped by the SiriusXM studios on International Women’s Day and helped curate the playlist. She’ll talk about her female inspirations in music and tell you why she chose some of these songs.  She’ll also share some of the stories behind her own lyrics in two songs that she’ll connect to female empowerment.

While you’re on the tube, check out her SiriusXM studio performance, too:

You can see Jessica on stage this summer as part of the Outlaw Music Festival, where she’ll share the stage with the one and only Willie Nelson, along with many other great musicians.

Jessica Mitchell

Madison Violet Releases ‘Everything’s Shifting’

Happy release weekend to the Canadian juno-nominated duo Madison Violet! Their new album Everything’s Shifting has an International Women’s Day release. This is the perfect way to celebrate the band’s 20th anniversary.  Here’s what Brenley MacEachern & Lisa MacIsaac say about the new single titled, ‘All Over Again:’

There are moments in our life where we wish we could have a do over, especially when it comes to understanding someone else’s truth. This is a song about regret, and how, when we are young, we sometimes don’t realize that our words and actions have consequences that could last a lifetime.

Melissa Etheridge Announces New Album and Single

Melissa Etheridge just announced she’ll release her new album The Medicine Show via Concord Records on April 12th! Although Rolling Stone praises her in the folk realm, she was digging back to some of her 90s alternative influnces on her 15th studio album produced by John Shanks (Keith Urban, Bon Jovi, Kelly Clarkson).  The lead single is ‘Faded by Design’ and we’ll spin it this weekend.

Don't miss a minute with SiriusXM Streaming, available online and via the SiriusXM App. You can also try it free for 14 days.