Canada Laughs’ 150 Great Canadian Comedy Moments and People: Part 1

150 Great Canadian Comedy Moments and People

With Canada celebrating its 150th birthday, I’ve put together Canada Laughs’ list of 150 great Canadian comedy moments and people. This isn’t in any kind of order, all these moments and people are worth acknowledging as are a lot of people and moments left off the list.

To start it off, this list features some giants in Canadian comedy. Click on the links and learn about the history of comedy in this country. Wayne & Shuster set the record for appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show, McLean & McLean faced major censorship issues, Video on Trial launched an entire generation of Canadian comics and the fabulous Kenny Robinson’s Nubian Disciples of Pryor continues to sell out shows to this day. And then there’s the Jerry Springer prank.

Johnny Gardhouse, Ian Sirota and Mini Holmes pranked the Jerry Springer Show in the 90’s by telling Jerry that Johnny had been sleeping with the babysitter, played by Mini Holmes. It wasn’t true. To hear this legendary story, just click on the link on the list.

 

Wayne & Shuster – http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/wayne-and-shuster/

Royal Canadian Airfarce – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Canadian_Air_Farce

McLean & McLean  – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacLean_%26_MacLean

Second City – http://www.secondcity.com/history/1973/

Yuk Yuk’s – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuk_Yuk%27s

Just for Laughs – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Just_for_Laughs

Canadian Comedy Network  – http://www.thecomedynetwork.ca/

Catherine O’Hara – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catherine_O%27Hara

John Candy – http://www.johncandy.com/Biography.aspx

Eugene Levy – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eugene_Levy

Jim Carrey – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Carrey

Lorne Michaels – http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/credits/credit/season-42/lorne-michaels

Russell Peters – http://www.russellpeters.com/

Tom Green – https://www.tomgreen.com/

Kenny vs spenny http://kennyvsspenny.com/

The Frantics http://www.thefrantics.com/index.cfm?pagepath=About_Us&id=3631

Colin Mochrie – http://www.colinmochrie.com/

Caroline Rhea – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_Rhea

Jon Lajoie – http://www.jonlajoie.com/about

Cheech & Chong – http://www.cheechandchong.com/

This Hour Has 22 mins – http://www.cbc.ca/22minutes/

Shaun Majumder – http://shaunmajumder.com/

Mike MacDonald – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mike_MacDonald_(comedian)

Kids in the hall https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Kids_in_the_Hall

Comedy Monday nights Calgary – http://comedymondaynight.com/

The Alt Dot launches – https://goo.gl/S7G14o

The Comedy Nest opens www.comedynest.com

Corner Gas – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corner_Gas

Brent Butt – http://www.brentbutt.com/

Kenny Robinson – http://www.kennyrobinson.com/bio.html

Nubian Disciples of Pryor – https://goo.gl/UfwxyU

The Sketchersons – https://www.facebook.com/thesketchersons/

Rich Little – www.richlittle.com

Canadian Comedy Awards – http://www.canadiancomedyawards.org/

Harland Williams – http://www.harlandwilliams.com/

Jeremy Hotz – http://www.jeremyhotz.com/pages/bio.html

Howie Mandel – https://goo.gl/Uncy3I

Mike Bullard Show – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Mike_with_Mike_Bullard

Video On Trial – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_on_Trial

The Debaters – http://www.cbc.ca/radio/thedebaters

Comedy Records – http://www.comedyrecords.ca/

Comedy Now/Comics – http://www.thecomedynetwork.ca/Shows/ComedyNow

Mike Myers – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mike_Myers

Rick Mercer – http://www.rickmercer.com/

Ron James – http://www.ronjames.ca/

Nathan Fielder – https://www.nathanfielder.com/

Jon Dore – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jon_Dore

Comedy Bar – https://comedybar.ca/

Comedy at club 54 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comedy_at_Club_54

Johnny Gardhouse, Mini Holmes and Ian Sirota prank the Jerry Springer Show https://goo.gl/c7VdJN

Don't miss a minute with SiriusXM Streaming, available online and via the SiriusXM App. You can also try it free for 14 days.