Duff McKagan of Guns ‘N’ Roses reveals new LP with Slash and Iggy Pop, drops title track

Duff McKagan

Guns N’ Roses bassist – and SiriusXM host – Duff McKagan announced today (June 14) his third solo album, Lighthouse, will be released on October 20. Additionally, he dropped the title track, which you can listen to now below.

About Lighthouse

Lighthouse will feature 11 songs (see the full tracklist below), including three with rock legends. McKagan will be joined by his Guns N’ Roses bandmate Slash on “Hope,” Alice in Chains’ Jerry Cantrell on “I Just Don’t Know,” and punk icon Iggy Pop on “Lighthouse (Reprise).”

Regarding the new LP, McKagan said: “The crashing…. the cresting waves, the falling through of all that surrounds you. Life sometimes tosses us around, and we feel the want of comfort and the pull of home. A ship tossed like a toy through the Cape, sails ripped and the wood groaning with the scraping of its ballast…. a soul trying with all its might to find peace and a center.”

He added, “Find a lighthouse. I have my lighthouse…. its beacon swirling in the darkness with her warmth and promise of nurture, love, laughter, and all that is true. Won’t you be my lighthouse, give me light,… and bring me home.”

The announcement follows McKagan’s May release of the track “This Is the Song” in conjunction with Mental Health Awareness Month. The song’s lyrics tackle his long-term battle with panic disorder.

Three Chords & The Truth

Since 2020, McKagan has hosted the weekly series Three Chords & The Truth on SiriusXM’s Ozzy’s Boneyard (Ch. 38). Co-hosted by his wife, Susan Holmes McKagan, the show features their favourite songs, as well as their exclusive commentary and insight behind the music. Listen to recent episodes of Three Chords & The Truth on the SXM App now, and check out more information about Ozzy’s Boneyard.

Lighthouse Tracklist:

1. Lighthouse
2. Longfeather
3. Holy Water
4. I Saw God on 10th St
5. Fallen
6. Forgiveness
7. Just Another Shakedown
8. Fallen Ones
9. Hope (feat. Slash)
10. I Just Don’t Know (feat. Jerry Cantrell)
11. Lighthouse (Reprise) (feat. Iggy Pop)